Recent news and articles on

News & Press Releases

Thomas Honors Five With President’s Awards

Oklahoma Bar Association President Linda S. Thomas of Bartlesville presented six lawyers with OBA President’s Awards at the OBA Annual Meeting, held Nov. 1-3 in Tulsa. Angela Ailles Bahm, Jim Calloway, Jennifer M. Castillo, Susan Damron, Mack Martin and John Morris Williams were honored with the awards.

Angela Ailles Bahm was recognized for her work as chairperson of the OBA Legislative Monitoring Committee. The committee is responsible for coordinating the OBA Legislative Reading Day and maintains an active list of bills affecting OBA members during each legislative session. Ailles Bahm is the managing attorney of State Farm’s in-house office in Oklahoma City.

Jim Calloway was awarded for his service to OBA members through his position as director of the OBA Management Assistance Program. The program helps Oklahoma lawyers better organize and operate the business and management sides of their practice.

Jennifer M. Castillo was recognized for her support, counsel and outstanding commitment to the association. She has served the bar association for more than 10 years in many ways, including chairing multiple committees, holding elected positions in the OBA Young Lawyers Division and most recently as the 2017 OBA vice president. Castillo is an in-house lawyer with OG&E in Oklahoma City.

Susan Damron was recognized for her work as coordinator of the OBA Leadership Academy. The academy trains Oklahoma lawyers in the core principles of effective leadership and how to communicate, motivate and succeed in their legal careers and as community leaders. Damron is the director of the OBA Continuing Legal Education Department.

Mack Martin was awarded for his leadership as chairperson of the OBA Standards for Defense of Capital Punishment Cases Task Force. The task force presented standards to better ensure that individuals facing the death penalty in Oklahoma receive high-quality representation. Martin practices criminal defense at the Martin Law Office in Oklahoma City.

John Morris Williams was recognized for his service to the association and support of President Thomas. Williams has been the OBA executive director for nearly two decades and has overseen several successful projects to better support OBA members.

President Thomas (center) with Vice President Castillo and and Executive Director Williams

President Thomas with Mack Martin, Susan Damron and Jim Calloway

President Thomas with Angela Ailles-Bahm